Activities of Computer Science Association (2014-2015)

The Computer Science Association organized Several Programs under the Leadership of Prof. S.T. Rajan, Head, Department of Computer Science and Prof. A. Charles, Coordinator, Shift-II, Department of Computer Science and under the guidance of Dr.S. Britto Ramesh Kumar, President and Prof. J. Antony John Prabu, Vice- President along with the student Secretaries both shift-I and shift-II.

The activity of Computer Science Association for the year 2014-2015 was inaugurated on 3rd July 2014 at 11:00 a.m. in the Jubilee Building. Chief Guest Dr. E. Ramganesh, Registrar i/c, Bharathidasan University, Trichy, inaugurated and delivered a Motivational Talk for the students. Rev. Dr. F. Andrew SJ, Principal presided over the function and offered his support to the department. Prof. S. T. Rajan, Head of the Department welcomed the gathering and Dr. S. Britto Ramesh Kumar, Association President proposed the vote of thanks.

A Special lecture on "Domain Study and Project Implementation" for final year B.Sc. Computer Science and II MCA (Shift I & Shift II) students was organized by the Computer Science Association on 09th July, 2014. Prof. S.T. Rajan, Head, Department of Computer Science was invited as a resource person.

The Computer Science association conducted a workshop on "ASP.NET" for III B.Sc Computer Science (Shift I & Shift II) students on 19^{th &} 26th June, 2014. Prof. J. Antony John Prabu, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science was invited as Resource Person.

The Computer Science Association and SJC Alumni USA Chapter jointly organized a Technical Conference on "Hadoop - A Complete Overview" held on September 13th, 2014 (Saturday). Mr.Velankanniraj, Alumnae, Department of Computer Science delivered his lecture (including Q&A). It was very useful for the research scholars of the Computer Science Department.

A Special lecture on "Recent Trends in Database Administration", was organized by the department of Computer Science on 16th September-2014 (Tuesday) at 11:30 a.m. in Sail Auditorium for Final year B.Sc, all PG (Shift I & Shift II) and M. Phil Students. Mr. Albert Levay, Database Administrator, Nuware System, Bangalore was invited as a Chief Guest.

The following students received medals for various events held in college annual SPORTS MEET 2014-15. The Computer Science Department thanks their sincerity and passion to acquire such fruitful results.

Event	Place	Name	Class	
10,000 Mts. Race	Third	Vijay, M	I B.Sc CS B	
800 Mts. Race	First	Vijay, M	I B.Sc CS B	
Triple Jump	Second	Hariharan, S	III B.Sc CS	
High Jump	Second	Raja Priyan, A	III B.Sc CS	
High Jump	Third	Madan Kumar, M	II B.Sc CS B	
Long Jump	Third	Raja Priyan, A	III B.Sc CS	

The Department of Computer Science conducted the Parent Teachers Meet (2014-2015) on 17-12-2014 at 10 a.m. in SAIL Auditorium. All the parents of first year UG and PG students were present for the meeting. Prof S.T.Rajan, Head of the Department, furnished the details of the various resources and facilities available in the department and the college. Dr. F. Selvakumaran, Head of the Department of Tamil delivered the special address on "Triangular Relationship and Responsibilities of Teachers, Parents and Students". All the faculty members of the department were present for the meeting. The mentors of the department both first UG and PG met the students individually and discussed about their academic performance during the first semester. Totally 154 students brought their parents for the meeting. Dr. S. Britto Ramesh Kumar and Prof J. Antony John Prabu respectively arranged for the Parents Meet (2014-15) under the guidance of Prof S.T. Rajan, HoD and Prof. A. Charles, Coordinator for Shift-II, Dept. of Computer Science.

In INDEP 2014 our students were motivated to participate in many events and won prizes in different competitions. Our department procured prizes for the events, Skit, Dance and Short Film.

Our students actively participated in Christmas CRIB COMPETION on 23rd December, 2014, and got Third Prize for Shift-I & First Prize for Shift-II.

An endowment lecture namely "Rev. Dr. S. John Britto Endowment lecture", was conducted on "Feature Trends and Opportunities in IT Industry" for Computer Science, MCA Students and M. Phil Students, on 07th February, 2015. Mr. N.R. Alwin King, Senior Delivery Manager, GAVS Technologies Pvt. Ltd., Chennai was invited as Chief Guest, Rev. Dr. S. Sebastian, SJ, Secretary presided over the function and offered his support to the department. Prof. A. Charles, Coordinator for Shift-II, Dept. of Computer Science, welcomed the gathering and Prof. K. Martin introduced the Chief Guest. Dr.S. Britto Ramesh Kumar proposed the vote of thanks.

The association conducted "Intra-Department Technical Symposium" on 18th February, 2015 for the students of our department. The events are: Debugging, Technical Quiz and Web Designing.

Prof. V.S. Joe Irudayaraj, Dr. S. Charles and Prof. A. Vimal Jerald acted as judges, for all the three events respectively. The association thanks and appreciates the following students of those got selected with merit in the competitions.

Events	I - Prize			II - Prize			III - Prize		
	Name	D.NO	Class	Name	D.NO	Class	Name	D.NO	Class
Debuggin	S.	14PCA1	I-MCA	A. Joseph	13PCA1	11-	M.Kamalraj	13UCS5	II -B.Sc
g	Thiruvettai	18		Leo Kensiline	02	MCA		11	
	Athithiyan						A.Jeromeginol	14PCA1	I-MCA
							d	03	
Technical	Т.	13PCA1	11-	S. Thiruvettai	14PCA1	I-MCA	V.T. Darel	14UCS6	I-B.Sc
Quiz	Dhanapal	38	MCA	Athithiyan	18		Jones	58	
							R. Sarath	13PCA1	11-
							Kumar	34	MCA
							A. Joseph Leo	13PCA1	11-
							Kensiline	02	MCA
Web	M. Amala	14PCA1	I MCA	A.Jeromegin	14PCA1	I-MCA	S. Thiruvettai	14PCA1	I-MCA
Designing	Jeyaseeli	37		old	03		Athithiyan	18	

The valediction of the association activities for the academic year 2014 - 15 was held on 26th February, 2015.The association student's secretary J. Suwakeen Richardson, II MCA, Shift-II welcomed the gathering. Prof. S.T. Rajan, Head, Department of Computer Science introduced the chief guest Prof. K. Sundar Sekar, Former Head, Department of Physics and felicitated by Prof. A. Charles, Coordinator, Shift-II, Department of Computer Science. Dr.S.Raja. Deputy Principal appreciated the association activities and delivered felicitations. The chief guest delivered the valedictory address and distributed the prizes to the winners of Intra-Department Technical Symposium. Finally the valediction function ended with vote of thanks proposed by W. Arul Abisheak, Association Secretary, II MCA, Shift-I.

The computer science association organized several programs under the leadership of prof.S.T.Rajan, Head, department of computer science and Prof.A.Charles coordinator Shift-II department of computer science and under the guidance of Dr.S.Britto Ramesh Kumar, President and prof.J.Antony John Prabu,vice president along with the student secretaries both shift I&II.

The association conducted "Intra Departmental technical symposium" on 18th February 2015 for UG and PG (Shift-I&II) students of our department. The events are: Quiz, Dump Charades, Debugging, Web Design. Prof. Joe Irudhyaraj ,Dr.S.Charles and prof. A.Vimal Jerald acted as judge for all the three events respectively. The association thanks and appreciates the following students of those got selected with merit in the competitions.